Nomination Process

Registration – Eligibility

Your business must be a Māori owned or controlled entity

You will need to state on the application form the geographic area in which your business mainly trades.  Preference will be given to those businesses that can whakapapa or have established linkages to the Taitokerau rohe and are trading within the Northland Regional Council boundary.

You are eligible to enter all, or any, of the categories which you believe are relevant to your business.

The award categories are:

  • Best Emerging and Newly Created Māori Enterprise
  • Best Not for Profit Māori Enterprise Award
  • Māori Enterprise Award (employing less than 14 staff)
  • Māori Enterprise Award (employing more than 14 staff)
  • Excellence in Environmental Awareness and Management Award
  • Rangatahi Development Award
  • Māori Business Leader Award
  • Māori Rangatahi Leader Award
  • Supreme Award: Taitokerau Māori Business of the Year Award

Learn more about the different Award Categories here

For the purpose of definition, ‘Māori owned or controlled’ is determined by the ownership model and the Directors/Trustees who dominate the Board.

Closing date To be confirmed for 2025

Your completed application along with supporting documents must be submitted (TBC in 2025) on our website

If you have any questions or need support with your application, please do not hesitate to contact